Log in or register to take part.

CONECA (pronounced: CŌ´NECA) is a national numismatic organization devoted to the education of error and variety coin collectors. CONECA focuses on many error and variety specialties, including doubled dies, Repunched mintmarks, multiple errors, clips, double strikes, off-metals and off-centers—just to name a few. In addition to its website, CONECA publishes an educational journal, The Errorscope, which is printed and mailed to members bimonthly. CONECA offers a lending library, examination, listing and attribution services; it holds annual meetings at major conventions (referred to as Errorama) around the country.

CONECA was formed through a merger of CONE and NECA in early 1983. To learn more about the fascinating HISTORY OF THE ERROR HOBBY and THE HISTORY OF CONECA, we encourage you to visit us our main site Here

If you're not a member and would like to join see our Membership Application

We thank everybody who has helped make CONECA the great success that it is today!

Register Now


No announcement yet.


This topic is closed.
This is a sticky topic.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • RPMs

    What are RPMs?

    RPM stands for a Re-Punched Mintmark.
    stands for Mintmark (aka, Mint-mark).

    RPMs are related to re-punched dates (RPDs).

    RPMs are a type of die error that is considered a VARIETY

    are often designated as being a D over D, or S over S, in shorthand it would appear as:

    D/D/D (for a triple punched RPM)

    RPMs are found on coins during certain years when punches were used.
    To distinguish coins minted at branch mints from one another (except Philadelphia) branch mints had the first initial of the city punched into the die face by hand until 1989. Being this was done by hand, mishaps occurred - these mistakes are called RPMs. CONECA catalogs and attributes RPMs.
    1. Carson City (NV) CC 1870-1893
    2. Charlotte (NC) C 1838-1861
    3. Dahlonega (GA) D 1838-1861
    4. Denver (CO) D 1906-1989
    5. New Orleans (LA) O 1838-1861, 1879-1909
    6. Philadelphia (PA) P (1942-45 with nickels), 1979-1989 (except Lincoln cents)
    7. San Francisco (CA) S 1854-1955, 1968-1985
    8. West Point (NY) W 1984-Present
    9. Mint marks were placed on the reverse of coins until 1968 when they moved to the obverse
    10. No mint marks appeared on circulating coins from 1965 to 1967
    11. Note: the US Mint no longer punches the MM into the die face
    RPMs are identified from the STRONGEST to WEAKEST MM.
    Or in other words from the clearest deepest MM to the lightest weakest MM.
    Alan Herbert apparently designed this order to be opposite that of doubled dies.

    We are using the following directional terms as per the chart below:

    NW: northwest
    N: north
    E: east
    NE: northeast
    SW: southwest
    W: west
    S: south
    SE: southeast

    Pivoted (which is sometimes called tilted)
    Rotated (which can be directional)
    CW: clockwise
    CCW: counter-clockwise

    MM-OVERLAY-CHART copy.jpg
    Jason Cuvelier

    Lead attributer

  • #2
    IMG_0712 copy.jpg IMG_0211 copy.jpg IMG_0716 copy.jpg
    1943-1c-RPM012 copy.jpg IMG_5150 copy.jpg 1956drpm8a.jpg
    IMG_2561 copy.jpg 1958DRPM005stack-MM.jpg
    Jason Cuvelier

    Lead attributer


    • #3
      IMG_7620 copy.jpg 1960d-rpm1A (3) copy.jpg
      Jason Cuvelier

      Lead attributer


      • #4
        1943DRPM001a.jpg 1987-D_RPM-003b.jpg
        Jason Cuvelier

        Lead attributer


        • #5
          IMG_7498 copy.jpg RPM plus OVERLAY.jpg IMG_0244.JPG
          IMG_5452 copy.jpg
          Jason Cuvelier

          Lead attributer